November 21st. Hello, I’m back!

I am sorry that I have not kept up with my blogging, apologies to all of you for being away for such a long time. My thanks go to Flower Press for re-inspiring me to get started again; I am grateful to all those bloggers who create such wonderful sites and are so generous with their ideas and comments. Also my thanks to WordPress for all their advice and inspirational posts.
Crotchet Cakes . I made these crotchet cakes for my friend, Anne, as miniatures of her cakes that were made for the Clandestine Cake Club. The cakes are always baked on a theme, and these were Anne’s designs, roughly interpreted by me in crotchet. The green one was a sponge filled with cream, with green icing and Pistachio nuts and chocolate vermicelli. The blue one was a sponge filled with cream and black cherries, with blue icing and marzipan fragments (to imitate ice-floes) and dusted with cake glitter. I used the Cherry Cake pattern from “Gourmet Crotchet”, by Christine Haden and Mariarosa Sala. I altered the pattern to suit my designs; I made both cakes taller and I changed cotton in the middle to white, to represent the cream and in the blue cake I added maroon crotchet cotton to represent black cherries. I also altered the pattern for the the tops of the cakes.

Leave a Reply

SALLEY MAVOR

WEE FOLK STUDIO

A Petal Unfolds

Contemporary paper flowers handmade in the UK

Which me am I today?

One person's experience of living with dementia

The Pale Rook

Textile Art by Johanna Flanagan

Draw and Bake

Illustrations, recipes and more of Pia Dirks

All Things E

Adventures in Everyday Living

Shibori Girl

....practicing the fine art of shibori

just look at my face

illustrated miscellany

sarahgoodreau

things and not things.

BY's Art

Doodling and Drawing Life

Danny Gregory

Inspiration for creative folks like you.

tamsyng

A blog about Textile Artist Tamsyn Gregory, designwork, home and outings.

COBALT

Challenging Obstacles and Barriers to Assistive Living Technologies

signor biscotti

an englishman makes italian biscotti... and more!

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

life~lessons~literature

Watts Up With That?

The world's most viewed site on global warming and climate change

